Compiling your guest list can sometimes be the most stressful parts of the wedding planning process, especially if you’re budget is limited. Many couples are unsure about which invitees should be allowed to bring guests. Here are a few simple tips to help you decide:

Spouses of friends, relatives, and colleagues – whether you know them or not – must be invited. It is also standard to include significant others of people who are engaged or living with someone. Beyond these scenarios, there are no rules requiring you to include “and guest” notation on an invitation envelope. Remember brides, this is you’re wedding and you can’t please everyone. In facet, may people create a cutoff at this point to save precious slots on their lists for people they really know. Just make sure that if you establish such a cutoff, you do it across the board. Allowing some people who don’t fall into the aforementioned categories to bring dates and not permitting others to do so is bound to stir up trouble.

I hope this helps. I know I had a hard time with this for my wedding. I wanted to invite everyone under the sun, but unfortunately my budget wouldn’t allow me. Sometimes has to be ‘Cut-throat’ in her decision making.

